Mailing Address
P. O. Box 2029
MC-240
Austin, TX 78768-2029

Physical Address 333 Guadalupe Tower 3, Suite 610 Austin, TX 78701

Fax (888) 512-2581

Phone (512) 305-7030

General Information E-mail: <a href="mailto:registrations@tmb.state.tx.us">registrations@tmb.state.tx.us</a>

**Pain Management Clinic Web Page:** 

https://www.tmb.state.tx.us/page/renewal-pain-mgt-clinic-pegistration

**Definition:** A pain management clinic is defined in statute and rule as a publicly or privately-owned facility for which a majority of patients are issued, on a monthly basis, a prescription for opioids, benzodiazepines, barbiturates, or carisoprodol, but not including suboxone.

A pain management clinic may not operate in Texas without obtaining a certificate from the Texas Medical Board (TMB). Use this form to register for pain management clinic certification and re-certification.

#### Instructions

The following documents must be submitted with your completed registration:

- **Proof of clinic ownership** Documents that may demonstrate ownership include: For FEIN (Federal Employer Identification Numbers) tax IDs issued by the IRS used on registration:
  - o IRS issued Form SS-4;
  - o IRS issued form LTR 147c;
  - o IRS records for the clinic.
  - certificates of ownership for unincorporated entities issued by a state county. If there are differences in names that can be explained by DBA records with the county, those records should also be submitted.

For State Issued Tax IDs (including State Franchise Tax IDs) tax IDs issued by the SOS used on registration:

- o filings with the Secretary of State,
- state franchise tax documents.

For DBA or Assumed Names the Clinic operates under other than the name listed on the IRS or SOS

- o Certificates of ownership for Assumed names or DBAs issued by a state county.
- Assumed name certificates filed with the SOS

The TMB may require additional documentation if proof of ownership documents submitted are inconclusive for purposes of determining ownership for each owner of the clinic.

- NPDB/HPDB You, the clinic's proposed medical director if different, and all physician owners must contact the National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB)/Healthcare Integrity and Protection Databank (HIPDB) at <a href="http://www.npdb-hipdb.hrsa.gov/">http://www.npdb-hipdb.hrsa.gov/</a> and perform a self-query. Send in all the responses and indicate the queries are for your clinic's pain management clinic certification.
- **Statement of Active Practice** Please provide a statement of evidence that you have practiced medicine full-time (at least 20 hours per week for 40 weeks) for one of the two years preceding the date of application (per Board rule 195.2(b)(3)).

Certificates, once issued, are not transferable or assignable. Only the primary physician owner is required to register with the board if there is more than one physician owner of the clinic. Each clinic requires a separate certificate.

Version 04/06/2017 Page 1

Normal processing time is 60 days from the date of receipt, by TMB, of the form. Check the web site <a href="https://www.tmb.state.tx.us/page/look-up-a-license">https://www.tmb.state.tx.us/page/look-up-a-license</a> under 'Other Healthcare professionals' to confirm registration.

### **Ownership and Operation**

A pain management clinic may not operate in Texas unless the clinic is owned and operated by a medical director who:

- is a physician who practices in Texas;
- has an active, unrestricted medical license;
- holds a certificate of registration for that pain management clinic.

All owners must be Texas licensed physicians.

In addition, the owner/operator of a pain management clinic, an employee of the clinic, or a person with whom a clinic contracts for services **may not**:

- have been denied, by any jurisdiction, a license issued by the Drug Enforcement Agency or a state public safety agency under which the person may prescribe, dispense, administer, supply, or sell a controlled substance;
- have held a license issued by the Drug Enforcement Agency or a state public safety agency in any jurisdiction, under which the person may prescribe, dispense, administer, supply, or sell a controlled substance, that has been restricted; or
- have been subject to disciplinary action by any licensing entity for conduct that was a result of inappropriately prescribing, dispensing, administering, supplying, or selling a controlled substance

A pain management clinic **may not** be owned wholly or partly by a person who has been convicted of, pled nolo contendere to, or received deferred adjudication for:

- an offense that constitutes a felony; or
- an offense that constitutes a misdemeanor, the facts of which relate to the distribution of illegal prescription drugs or a controlled substance as defined by Texas Occupations Code Annotated §551.003(11)

The medical director of a pain management clinic must operate the clinic in compliance with Drug Prevention and Control Act, 21 U.S.C.A. 801 et.seq. and the Texas Controlled Substances Act, Chapter 481 of the Texas Health and Safety Code, relating to the prescribing and dispensing of controlled substances.

The medical director of a pain management clinic must, on an annual basis, ensure that all personnel:

- are properly licensed(if applicable);
- are trained including, but not limited to, 10 hours of continuing medical education related to pain management;
- are qualified for employment.

#### Fees and Expiration dates

At this time, there is no charge to register a pain management clinic.

Certificates are valid for two years from date of issuance. Certificates must be timely renewed.

Certificates not renewed on or before the expiration date are considered delinquent. <u>The clinic may not continue to operate after the permit expires.</u>

There is a 180-day grace period after the expiration date in which the certificate may still be renewed. After the 180-day grace period, the certificate is automatically cancelled and the owner or operator of the clinic must reapply for original certification if a certificate is needed.

Version 04/06/2017 Page 2

PA	AIN MANAGEMENT CLINIC INFORMATION	(PLEASE PRINT)		
Clinic Name				
Address (PO Box not allowed)				
City		State	Zip Code	
Phone Number	Fax Number	_		
State Franchise Tax ID Number	Federal Employer Identification Number (EIN)	(EIN)  Check if clinic is your primary practi		
		Agency use only:		
TMB Certification Number (if applicable)		Clinic ID #		
PRIMARY	PHYSICIAN OWNER, CO-OWNER INFORM	ATION (PLEASE PRINT)		
			M:	D/D0
Last Name	First Name		Suffix	
Home Address (PO Box not allowed)				_
City		State	Zip Code	
Phone Number	Email Address	Fax Number	TX License Num	ıber
DEA Controlled Substance Number	DEA Expiration date	Percent of Ownership		
☐ Check if Medical Director is the sar	ne as Primary Physician Owner			

PLEASE RESPOND TO ALL OF THE FOLLOWING ELIGIBILITY QUESTIONS	3	
Do you currently hold an active, unrestricted medical license in Texas?	Yes	No
If the answer to this question is "no," you are not currently eligible to own and operate a pain management clinic.		
Are all owners of the pain management clinic physicians?	Yes	No
If the answer to this question is "no," the clinic is not eligible for certification as a pain management clinic.		
Have you practiced clinical medicine at least 20 hours a week for at least 40 weeks within the last two years?	Yes	No
If the answer to this question is "yes" please provide documentation to prove the medical director meets active practice requirements. If the answer to this question is "no," the clinic is not eligible for certification as a pain management clinic.		
If you are not the clinic's proposed medical director, has the medical director practiced clinical medicine at least 20 hours a week for at least 40 weeks within the last two years?	Yes	No
If the answer to this question is "yes" please provide documentation to prove the medical director meets active practice requirements. If the answer to this question is "no," the clinic is not eligible for certification as a pain management clinic.		
Have you, any co-owner, current employee or person with whom you contract services		
ever:  been denied, by any jurisdiction, a license issued by the Drug Enforcement Agency or a state public safety agency under which the person may prescribe, dispense, administer, supply or sell a controlled substance?	Yes	No
held a license issued by the Drug Enforcement Agency or a state public safety agency in any jurisdiction, under which the person may prescribe, dispense, administer, supply, or sell a controlled substance, that has been restricted?	Yes	No
been subject to disciplinary action by any licensing entity for conduct that was a result of inappropriately prescribing, dispensing, administering, supplying, or selling a controlled substance?	Yes	No
If the answer to any of the above questions is "yes," you are not currently eligible to own and operations	ate a pain mai	nagement clinic.
Have you, or any co-owner, ever been convicted of, pled nolo contendere to, or received deferred adjudication for:		
an offense that constitutes a felony?	Yes	No
an offense that constitutes a misdemeanor, the facts of which relate to the distribution of illegal prescription drugs or a controlled substance?	Yes	No
If the answer to any of the above questions is "yes", you are not currently eligible to own and operations	ate a pain ma	nagement clinic.

		License
Medical Director Name (printed):	Address	Number
		Percent of
	<del></del>	Ownership
	Phone	
	Fax	DEA CCD
		DEA CSR
	E-mail	
Iternate Physician Owner Name	Address	License Number
printed):	Address	Percent of
		Ownership
	Phone	
	Fax	DEA CSR
	E-mail	=
Iternate Physician Owner Name		License
printed):	Address	Number
- <del>-</del>		Percent of
		Ownership
	Phone	
	Fax	DEA CSR
	E-mail	
Alternate Physician Owner Name		License
orinted):	Address	Number
		Percent of
	<del></del>	Ownership
	Phone	
	Fax	DE A CCD
	E-mail	DEA CSR
town at Dhardelan O	E-Man	¥*
Alternate Physician Owner Name (printed):	Address	License Number
	Auu1 535	Percent of
		Ownership
	Phone	
	Fax	DEA CSR
	E-mail	
Alternate Physician Owner Name (printed):	Address	License
		Number
		Percent of
		Ownership
	Phone	
	Fax	DEA CSR
	E-mail	

### HOURS OF OPERATION, PRIMARY PHYSICIAN ON-SITE HOURS

List the hours of operations of the clinic and hours the primary physician owner will be on site. If the same schedule is followed weekly, use only Week 1. For every other week schedules, use Weeks 1-2. For other schedules, use Weeks 1-4.

	Sun	Mon	Tue	Wed	Thu	Fri	Sat
Week 1							
Clinic Hours of							
Operation (e.g., 8-5)							
Primary Physician							
Owner Hours On Site							
[e.g., 9-12]							
Week 2							
Clinic Hours of							
Operation (e.g., 8-5)							
Primary Physician							
Owner Hours On Site							
[e.g., 9-12]							
(9.8.) 7 12)							
Week 3							
Clinic Hours of							
Operation (e.g., 8-5)							
Primary Physician							
Owner Hours On Site							
(e.g., 9-12)							
Week 4							
Clinic Hours of							
Operation (e.g., 8-5)							
Primary Physician							
Owner Hours On Site							
(e.g., 9-12)							
Week 5							
Clinic Hours of							
Operation (e.g., 8-5)							
Primary Physician							
Owner Hours On Site							
(e.g., 9-12)							
certify that the inform Medical Practice Act, Te submit a false or mislea not authorized to issue the person named in th	ex. Occ. Code A ading stateme a pain manag	Ann. §164.051 nt to a govern ement certific	(a)(1) and §1 mental agenc ation if I do n	64.052(a)(2) an y. I acknowledg ot provide all ro	d the Tex. Per e that the Tex	n. Code Ann. §3 as Medical Bo	37.10 to ard (TMB)
Physician Primary Own	er Signature			Date			
I certify that all personi management.	nel are qualifi	ed for employ	ment and hav	re met CME requ	iirements of 1	0 hours relate	ed to pain
Physician Medical Direc	aton Cianotuna						

Note - Please refer to instructions for additional items you must submit with this registration.