Mandatory Service Requirement
Effective 9/1/12, physician licensure applicants who are not citizens, permanent residents or conditional permanent residents of the United States will be required to practice full time, for three years, in a medically underserved area (MUA), a Health Professional Shortage Area (HPSA) in Texas, or at a Texas institution that maintains a graduate medical education program. This is authorized by Section §155.0045 of the Medical Practice Act, Texas Occupation Code.
Applicants who either practiced medicine in Texas prior to 9/1/12, for at least one year, under a postgraduate training permit, temporary license, or limited license; or who submitted an initial application for full licensure prior to 9/1/12, will be exempt from this requirement.
Full time practice is defined as a minimum of 20 hours a week for 40 weeks duration in a given year.