## TEXAS STATE BOARD OF ACUPUNCTURE EXAMINERS LICENSURE COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES OCTOBER 24, 2003

The meeting was called to order at 9:30 a.m. by Chairman, Everett G. Heinze, Jr., M.D. Committee members present were Meng-Sheng Linda Lin, L.Ac.; Pedro (Pete) V. Garcia; and Hoang Xiong Ho. Michele Shackelford, J.D., General Counsel; Jennifer Soffer, J.D., Assistant General Counsel; Jaime Garanflo, Director, Customer Affairs; Tim Speer, Manager, Acupuncture/Physician Assistant Division; and various other staff were also present.

Agenda item #2, Executive Session, was considered. Mr. Garcia moved, Mr. Ho seconded, and the motion passed at 9:31 a.m. to go into executive session for private consultation and advice of counsel concerning pending or contemplated litigation, deliberations concerning licensure applications, and/or possible disciplinary action order under the authority of the Open Meetings Act, GOV'T CODE, §551.071; and the Medical Practice Act, TEX. OCC. CODE ANN., §152.009; and TEX. OCC. CODE ANN., §\$205.304; and Attorney General's Opinion No. H-484. Open session resumed at 9:40 a.m. and it was announced that no action was taken during executive session. A certified agenda was made.

Agenda item #3, regarding applicants for Texas Acupuncture Licensure, was considered. Applicant #AC-242 appeared before the committee and answered Committee members' questions regarding their arrests for (1) Driving While Intoxicated in 1995 and 1997, (2) Driving while their License was Suspended in 1995, and (3) Possession of Marijuana in 1997. Following discussion, Mr. Garcia moved, Mr. Ho seconded, and the motion passed to recommend to the full Board that Applicant #AC-242's application be deferred until the applicant obtains an evaluation by an addictionologist who has been approved in advance by the Executive Director and the evaluation is presented to the committee for review. If the report from the

addictionologist is favorable, the Executive Director may issue Applicant #AC-242 a temporary license until the next committee meeting.

Mr. Garcia moved, Mr. Ho seconded, and the motion passed to recommend to the full Board that Ronald William Baneuelos; Hongzhen Chen; Pai-Chun Chen; Mary K. Garcia; Yuru Hao; Kristen E. Horner; J. Nicole Lentfer; Melissa Beth Light; Tao Ma; Diem Hoang Nguyen; Kristen Michelle Planinz; Wen Shui; Karen Anne Siegel; Beverly D. Simpson; Bih-Yeang Song; Stacy V. Terrell; David S. Tharp; Dennis Scott Way; Jia Qing Zhang; and Christopher Shawn Zoch be issued acupuncture licenses.

There being no further business, Mr. Garcia moved, Mr. Ho seconded, and the meeting was adjourned at 9:46 a.m.