

## TEXAS MEDICAL BOARD Advertising Board Certification Ad Hoc Committee Thursday, MARCH 3, 2016

The meeting was called to order at 9:01a.m.by the chair, Timothy Webb, J.D. Committee members present were Michael Arambula, M.D. and Margaret McNeese M.D. Committee members not present were Paulette Southard and George Willeford; III, M.D. Other board members present were Julie Attebury; Frank Denton; Robert B. Simonson, D.O.; John R. Guerra, D.O.; Carlos Gallardo; and J. Scott Holliday, D.O. Staff members present included Mari Robinson, J.D., Executive Director; Robert Bredt, M.D., Medical Director; Scott Freshour, General Counsel; John Langley, Assistant General Counsel; Rob Blech, Assistant General Counsel; Wendy Pajak, Assistant General Counsel; Sarah Tuthill, Assistant General Counsel, Megan Goode, Governmental Affairs & Public Information Manager; Monique Johnston Licensure Manager and various staff.

Agenda item #2, Discussion, recommendation, and possible action regarding an application for approval for advertising of board certification, under Board Rule 164.4, related to physicians' advertising of specialty board certification. Ms. Tuthill presented information regarding staff's analysis of the application submitted by the American Board of Interventional Pain Physicians (ABIPP) seeking the Texas Medical Board's approval for licensed physicians who are diplomates of ABIPP to advertise specialty certification granted by ABIPP. Karl Zarse, M.D., member of ABIPP appeared with- Mark Boswell M.D., PhD, Executive Director of ABIPP before the Committee, presented information and answered the committee's questions. After discussion, Dr. McNeese moved, Dr. Arambula seconded, and the motion passed to approve the application under board rule 164.4 contingent upon the board staff's receipt of information and data from ABIPP that shows the ABIPP's website provides the public information on ABIPP diplomates' initial dates of certification and current status of such certification. If ABIPP does not provide such information back to the committee for further consideration.

There being no additional items, **Dr. Arambula moved**, **Dr. McNeese seconded**, and the motion passed to adjourn at 9:26 a.m.