

TEXAS MEDICAL BOARD Advertising Board Certification Ad Hoc Committee Thursday, March 2, 2017

The meeting was called to order at 9:30 a.m. by the Chair, Timothy Webb. Committee members present were Kandace B. Farmer, D.O.; Margaret McNeese, M.D.; Paulette Southard; George Willeford III, M.D. Other board members present were Julie Attebury; Michael Cokinos; Frank Denton; Carlos Gallardo; John R. Guerra, D.O.; Jayaram Naidu, M.D.; Surendra Varma, M.D.; Stanley Wang, M.D. and Sherif Z. Zaafran, M.D. Staff members present included Scott Freshour, Interim Executive Director; Robert Bredt, M.D. Medical Director; Sarah Tuthill, Assistant General Counsel and various staff.

Agenda item #2.Discussion, recommendation, and possible action regarding applications for approval for advertising of board certification, under Board Rule 164.4. Ms. Tuthill presented information regarding the American Board of Urgent Care Medicine's (ABUCM) application seeking the Texas Medical Board's approval for licensed physicians who are diplomates of ABUCM to advertise specialty certification granted by ABUCM. No one was present to represent ABUCM. After discussion, Ms. Southard moved to deny approval of application. Motion failed. After further discussion, Ms. Southard moved, Dr. Willeford seconded, and the motion passed to defer approval of the application under Board Rule164.4 until the ABUCM appears before the committee.

There being no additional items, the committee adjourned at 9:56 a.m.