

Texas Medical Board

ADVERTISING BOARD CERTIFICATION AD HOC COMMITTEE MINUTES THURSDAY, JUNE 13, 2019

The meeting was called to order at 10:08 a.m., by Timothy Webb, J.D., Chair. Other committee members present were Sherif Z. Zaafran, M.D.; Michael Cokinos; Frank Denton; and Kandace Farmer, D.O. Staff members present were Stephen Brint Carlton, J.D., Executive Director; Scott Freshour, J.D., General Counsel; the Assistant General Counsels, Amy Swanholm, J.D., Sarah Tuthill, J.D., and Yvette Yarbrough, J.D.; and various other staff.

Agenda Item #2, Discussion, recommendation, and possible action regarding applications for approval for advertising of board certification, under Board Rule 164.4. Ms. Tuthill presented information regarding the renewal application submitted by the American Board of Pain Medicine (ABPM) seeking renewal of the Texas Medical Board's approval for licensed physicians who are diplomates of ABPM to advertise specialty certification granted by ABPM. After discussion, Dr. Zaafran moved, Mr. Cokinos seconded and the motion passed to approve the renewal application under Board Rule 164.4.

There being no further agenda items, Dr. Zaafran moved, Mr. Cokinos seconded and the motion passed to adjourn the meeting at 10:12 a.m.