

Advertising Board Certification Ad Hoc Committee June 14, 2018

The meeting was called to order at 9:37 a.m. by the Chair, Timothy Webb. Committee members present were Sherif Z. Zaafran, M.D.; Michael Cokinos; Frank Denton; and Kandace B. Farmer, D.O. Paulette Southard was not present. Other board members present were Sharon J. Barnes, George L. De. Loach, D.O., Robert Gracia, Jeffrey L. Luna, M.D., Margaret McNeese, M.D., LuAnn Morgan, Jayaram B. Naidu, M.D., Manuel Quinones, Jr., M.D., David G. Vanderweide, M.D., and Surendra Varma, M.D. Staff members present included Stephen Brint Carlton, J.D., Executive Director; Scott Freshour, General Counsel; Robert Bredt, Medical Director; Megan Goode, Governmental Affairs & Communications Manager, and various other staff.

Agenda item #2. Discussion, recommendation, and possible action regarding applications for approval for advertising of board certification, under Board Rule 164.4. Ms. Tuthill presented information regarding the renewal application submitted by the American Board of Cosmetic Surgery (ABCS) seeking the Texas Medical Board's approval for licensed physicians who are diplomats of the ABCS to advertise specialty certification granted by ABCS. Applicant representative and legal counsel addressed the Committee and answered questions. After discussion, Mr. Denton moved, Dr. Farmer seconded, and the motion passed to approve the application under Board Rule 164.4.

There being no additional agenda items, **Dr. Farmer moved**, **Mr. Cokinos seconded**, and the motion passed to adjourn at 9:47 a.m.