

Advertising Board Certification Ad Hoc Committee Thursday, June 15, 2017

The meeting was called to order at 9:09 a.m. by the Chair, Timothy Webb. Committee members present were Kandace B. Farmer, D.O. and Margaret McNeese, M.D. Committee members not present were; Michael Arambula, M.D.; Paulette Southard, and George Willeford III, M.D. In order to ensure a quorum, Dr. Zaafran announced the temporary appointment of LuAnn Morgan and Surendra K. Varma, M.D. to the committee. Other board members present were Michael Cokinos; Frank Denton; Carlos Gallardo; John R. Guerra, D.O.; Scott Holliday, M.D.; Jeffrey Luna, M.D.; Jayaram Naidu, M.D.; Surendra Varma, M.D. and Sherif Z. Zaafran, M.D. Staff members present included Scott Freshour, Interim Executive Director; Robert Bredt, M.D. Medical Director; Sarah Tuthill, Assistant General Counsel and various staff.

Agenda item #2.Discussion, recommendation, and possible action regarding applications for approval for advertising of board certification, under Board Rule 164.4.

Ms. Tuthill presented information regarding the American Board of Urgent Care Medicine's (ABUCM) application seeking the Texas Medical Board's approval for licensed physicians who are diplomates of ABUCM to advertise specialty certification granted by ABUCM. Franz Ritucci, M.D., President of ABUCM and Jeff McDonald M.D., presented information and answered questions. After discussion, **Ms. Morgan moved, Dr. Farmer seconded, the motion passed to approve the application under Board Rule164.4.** Dr. Varma and Dr. McNeese voted against the motion.

There being no additional agenda items, Ms. Morgan moved, Dr. Varma seconded, and the motion passed to adjourn at 10:51 a.m.