TEXAS STATE BOARD OF ACUPUNCTURE EXAMINERS LICENSURE COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES MAY 6, 2005

The meeting was called to order at 10:20 a.m. by Chairman, Everett G. Heinze, Jr., M.D. Committee members present were Meng-Sheng Linda Lin, L.Ac.; Pedro (Pete) Garcia; and Hoang Xiong Ho. Jerry Walker, Deputy Executive Director; Michele Shackelford, J.D., General Counsel; Jaime Garanflo, Director, Customer Affairs; Tonie Knight, Manager, Licensing, Permits and Registration; and various other staff were also present.

Agenda item #3, regarding applicants for Texas Acupuncture Licensure, was considered. Mr. Garcia moved to recommend to the full Board that Catherine D. Altman; Markus Kortlan Bergman; Michelle Jeanne Bienz; Brook Emanuel Birchard; Patricia E. Carey; Lynne Allison Cooper; Peggy Ghorbani; Spyche Elijah Hawken; Christopher James; Phillip James; Matthew Kalman Kirsch; Samuel K. Leong; Frances Fen-Lian Li; Lydia Francine Munro; Ruben Morin Pena; Lorenzo Tien Phan; Eli Seton Sigler; Elisabeth Yuwono Tan; Sabrina Maria Thomas; and Shuko Yamamoto Ward be issued acupuncture licenses. Ms. Lin seconded. All voted in favor and the motion passed.

Agenda item #4, regarding licensure applicants referred to the Licensure Committee by the Executive Director for determination of eligibility of licensure, was considered. Ms. Garanflo stated that there were no applicants appearing before the Committee at this meeting.

Agenda item #5, regarding cancellation of Acupuncture licenses by request and for nonpayment, was considered. Ms. Garanflo presented the committee with the cancellation lists. Following discussion, Mr. Garcia moved to recommend to the Full Board that the licenses listed be approved for cancellation by request and for cancellation due to nonpayment of registration fees. Ms. Lin seconded. All voted in favor and the motion passed. There being no further business, Mr. Garcia moved to adjourn the meeting at 10:45 a.m. Ms. Lin seconded. All voted in favor and the motion passed.