

BOARD MEETING September 17, 2021 Video Conference

The meeting was called to order on Friday September 17, 2021 at 4:03 p.m. by Manuel Quinones, Jr., M.D. Board members present were: Michael E. Cokinos, Secretary/Treasurer; Arun Agarwal; Sharon Barnes; George L. DeLoach, D.O.; James Distefano, D.O.; Robert Gracia; Jeffrey L. Luna, M.D.; Robert Martinez, M.D.; LuAnn R. Morgan; Jayaram B. Naidu, M.D. Satish Nayak, M.D.; and David Vanderweide, M.D. Board members not present were: Kandace Farmer, D.O., Vice President; Devinder S. Bhatia, M.D.; Tomeka Herod; and Jason Tibbels, M.D. Staff members present were Stephen Brint Carlton, J.D., Executive Director; Scott Freshour, J.D.; and various other staff.

Agenda Item # 1, Mission Statement. Dr. Quinones read the board's mission statement into the minutes. Our Mission is to protect and enhance the public's health, safety and welfare by establishing and maintaining standards of excellence used in regulating the practice of medicine and ensuring quality health care for the citizens of Texas through licensure, discipline, and education.

Agenda Item #2, Discussion, recommendation, and possible action regarding adoption of emergency rule amendments to 22 T.A.C. 174.5, Issuance of Prescriptions. Mr. Carlton gave a brief review of the proposed rule amendments. Ms. Pajak gave an overview of the comments and staff recommendations. After discussion, Dr. Zaafran moved, Dr. Martinez seconded and the motion passed to adopt the rule amendments to 22 T.A.C. 174.5, Issuance of Prescriptions, as written with the two non-substantive changes recommended by staff. One board member opposed.

Agenda Item #3, Adjourn. After discussion, Ms. Barnes moved, Dr. Distefano seconded, and the motion passed to adjourn the meeting at 4:25 p.m.