

## TELEMEDICINE COMMITTEE Meeting Minutes August 27, 2015

The meeting was called to order at 9:58 a.m. by the Chair, Karl W. Swann, M.D. Committee members present were Michael Arambula, M.D., PharmD; Frank Denton; Timothy Webb, J.D. Margaret McNeese, M.D.; and Allan Shulkin, M.D., were not present. Other board members present were Julie Attebury; John D. Ellis, Jr., J.D.; Carlos Gallardo; Robert B. Simonson, D.O.; Paulette Southard; Surendra K. Varma, M.D.; Stanley Wang, M.D.; and George Willeford III, M.D. Staff members present included Mari Robinson, J.D., Executive Director; Robert Bredt, M.D., Medical Director; Scott Freshour, General Counsel; Tonie Knight, Licensure Manager; and Megan Goode, Governmental Affairs & Public Information Manager; and other staff members.

**Agenda item #2, Presentation.** Ms. Julie Hall-Barrow, EdD, Sr. Director of Healthcare Innovation and Telehealth at Children's Health System of Texas and Ray Tsai, M.D., President in Chief Officer for Children's Health Pediatric Group, gave a presentation.

**Agenda item #3, Discussion, recommendation, and possible action regarding call coverage.** Ms. Robinson gave an overview of the Telemedicine Stakeholder meeting held in late July, to discuss Board Rule §174.11, related to On-Call Services. Ms. Robinson gave a report regarding the discussion and issues raised during the stakeholder meeting.

After discussion, the committee directed staff to research possible changes in the call coverage requirements within the Telemedicine board rule and exemptions to broaden the requirement of the same specialty to be more inclusive of other specialties that may also be able to provide adequate call coverage and to modify the requirement for providing reciprocal services to also allow call coverage if a contractual relationships is established, to provide joint responsibility between the referring physician and the physician providing call coverage.

Dr. Varma was appointed to the committee.

Agenda item #4, Adjourn. There being no additional agenda items, Mr. Webb moved, Dr. Arambula seconded, and the motion passed to adjourn at 10:55 a.m.