## TEXAS MEDICAL BOARD EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE December 11, 2008

The meeting was called to order at 8:30 a.m. by Roberta Kalafut, D.O., Chair. Committee members present were Michael Arambula, M.D.; Larry Price, D.O.; Tim Turner; and Irvin E. Zeitler, Jr., D.O. Other Board members present were Julie Attebury; David Baucom; Jose M. Benavides, M.D.; Melinda McMichael, M.D.; Margaret McNeese, M.D.; Charles Oswalt, M.D.; Paulette Southard; and Timothy Webb. Staff members present were Mari Robinson, J.D., Interim Executive Director; Robert Simpson, J.D., General Counsel; Jane McFarland, Chief of Staff; Jaime Garanflo, Director of Customer Affairs; and various staff.

**Agenda item #2, Orientation for 81<sup>st</sup> Legislative Session.** Ms. McFarland reviewed important dates during the 81<sup>st</sup> Legislative Session and reviewed a tracking report from Telicom of upcoming bills of interest to the board.

Agenda item #3, Discussion and possible action regarding organization and structure of board committees. After discussion, Dr. Kalafut appointed Melinda McMichael, M.D. as the board legislative liaison. Dr. McMichael will be the point person to bring legislative information to the board.

Agenda item #4, Reviewand possible action regarding policies and procedures for public appearances. After discussion, Mr. Turner moved, Dr. Zeitler seconded, and the motion passed to approve on a trial basis an open forum for public comments on the board agenda not to exceed 30 minutes. A sign-in sheet will be require with the speakers name and topic for the chair to review and assign an allotted time period.

The meeting recessed at 9:02 a.m. to reconvene on Friday, December 12, 2008 at 8:30 a.m. to continue **Agenda Item #2, Orientation for 81**<sup>st</sup> **Legislative Session**.

The meeting was reconvened at 8:41 a.m. by Roberta Kalafut, D.O., Chair. Committee members present were Michael Arambula, M.D.; Julie Attebury; David Baucom, Jose M. Benavides, M.D.; Manuel G. Guajardo, M.D.; Melinda McMichael, M.D.; Margaret C. McNeese, M.D.; Charles Oswalt, Larry Price, D.O.; Annette Raggette; Allan N. Shulkin, M.D.; Paulette Southard; Timothy J. Turner; Timothy Webb; George Willeford III, M.D.; and Irvin E. Zeitler, Jr., D.O. Staff members present were Mari Robinson, J.D., Interim Executive Director; Robert

Simpson, J.D., General Counsel; Jane McFarland, Chief of Staff; Jaime Garanflo, Director of Customer Affairs; and various staff.

**Agenda Item #2, Orientation for 81<sup>st</sup> Legislative Session** continued. Ken Armbrister, Legislative Director for Governor Perry, gave a presentation of his thoughts on the upcoming session and the role of board members.

The meeting adjourned at 9:22 a.m.