image of caduceus
CE for Perfusionists

As a prerequisite for registration, perfusionists are required to complete continuing education. Current requirements for perfusionists are summarized below. If you would like to review the current rule, these requirements are currently listed the Texas Administrative Code, Title 22, Part 9, Chapter 188, Rule 188.24, located here.


A permit holder must report during registration if she or he has completed the required CE during the previous two years (biennial registration period).  


New Human Trafficking Prevention Requirement

House Bill 2059 (86th Legislature) requires physicians, physician assistants, and any licensee of the TMB’s advisory boards or committees that provide direct patient care, to complete a human trafficking prevention course approved by the Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC). This requirement applies to the renewal of a license on or after September 1, 2020.

HHSC is the approving body for the human trafficking prevention requirement. HB 2059 requires HHSC to approve training courses on human trafficking, including at least one that is free of charge, post a list of approved trainings on its website and update the list of approved trainings as necessary.

HHSC now has an approved course available, which is free of charge, that satisfies the requirements for all licensees impacted by HB 2059.


Documentation of CE courses shall be made available to the Board upon request, but should not be submitted with the registration. Random audits will be made to assure compliance.


If you have any questions regarding continuing education requirements, please email us at .



Perfusionist CE Requirements

Perfusionists can meet this CE requirement by either:


  • Completion of CE requirements with current certification by the American Board of Cardiovascular Perfusion (ABCP) or its successor agency. Completion of continuing education requirements shall be documented by demonstrating current certification by the ABCP annual license renewal.


  • Complete a minimum of 30 continuing education credit (CEUs) every 24 months, and
    • At least 15 (of the 30) hours CE shall be Category I (see definitions below)
    • A course in human trafficking prevention approved by the executive commissioner of the Texas Health and Human Services Commission must be completed.
  •  Complete a minimum of 40 clinical perfusions in a 24 month period


The 24 month timeline is in relation to the biennial registration period, not the calendar year.

Those who hold temporary permits are not subject to these continuing education requirements.

One CE or contact hour activity is defined as 50 minutes spent in an organized, structured or unstructured learning experience.


Categories of CE activities are:

Category I--Perfusion Meetings and Other Perfusion Related Activity

  • Perfusion meetings are those programs and seminars in which a minimum of 75% of the contact hours consist of perfusion related material. Only those meetings approved by the ABCP will qualify for Category 1 hours. Examples:
  • International, national, regional and state perfusion meetings.
  • Publication of perfusion related book chapter or paper in a professional journal.
  • Presentation at an international, national, regional or state perfusion journal.


Category II--Non-Accredited Perfusion Meetings and Other Medical Meetings

  • This category includes international, national, regional, and state meetings that have not been approved by the ABCP, local perfusion meetings and all other medically related meetings. Examples:
    • International, National, Regional, and State, perfusion meetings that have not been accredited by the ABCP.
    • Local perfusion meetings (do not require ABCP accreditation). Any perfusion meeting NOT EQUALLY ACCESSIBLE to the general CCP community, this includes manufacturer-specific and company-sponsored educational activities.
    • International, National, Regional, or Local medically-related meetings.


Category III--Individual Education and Other Self-Study Activities

Credit in this category is acquired on an hour for hour basis of the time spent in these non-accredited or non-supervised activities. Examples:

      (i) Reading or viewing medical journals, audio-visual, or other educational material.

      (ii) Participation in electronic forums.

      (iii) Participation in a Journal Club.

      (iv) Participation in degree-oriented, professional-related course work.

      (v) Presentation of perfusion topic at a non-perfusion meeting.


40 cases are required each biennial as the Primary Perfusionist for Cardiopulmonary bypass (instructor or primary), ECMO, VAD, Isolated Limb Perfusion, or VENO-VENO bypass



Documentation of activities

Documentation of CE courses shall be made available to the Board upon request, but should not be submitted with the registration. Random audits will be made to assure compliance.

Credit will not be granted for activities that are not documented. The suitable documentation is outlined as follows:


  • Category I—
    • Perfusion meetings--Approved perfusion meetings held before June 30, 1998, may be documented by copies of registration receipts or official meeting name tags. For approved perfusion meetings held after June 30, 1998, an official document from the meeting sponsor documenting attendance and the number of hours received must be provided.
    • Perfusion Publications must have complete reference of book or article (authors, title, journal and date/volume of journal.)
    • Perfusion Presentations must have copy of program agenda.


  • Category II--International, national, regional, and state perfusion meetings not accredited by the ABCP, local perfusion meetings and all other medical meetings--must provide an official document stating CEUs awarded and copy of the meeting program.


  • Category III--All self-study activities will require an official record of completion or written summary of the activity.



A licensee may request in writing an exemption* for the following reasons:

  • the licensee's catastrophic illness;
  • the licensee's military service of longer than one year's duration outside the state;
  • the licensee's residence of longer than one year's duration outside the United States; or
  • good cause shown submitted in writing by the licensee that gives satisfactory evidence to the board that the licensee is unable to comply with the requirement for continuing education.

*Exemptions are reviewed on a case by case basis and must be requested in writing at least 30 days prior to the expiration date of the license.  An exemption may not exceed one registration period, but may be renewed, subject to approval.

Perfusionist Continuing Education Exemption Request Form


Voluntary Charity Care

Licensees who are under the status of “Retired Perfusionists Performing Voluntary Charity Care” may complete reduced continuing education requirements equal to two-thirds of the number of continuing education hours required for renewal for a licensed perfusionist.