image of caduceus
Acupuncture Board History

In 1993, the 73rd Texas Legislature amended the Medical Practice Act to create a Texas State Board of Acupuncture Examiners. The legislators found that the "review and establishment of statewide standards for the training, education and discipline of persons performing acupuncture are in the public interest…." The statute mandates that the medical board provide administrative and clerical assistance as necessary. In addition, the medical board is responsible for final approval of the issuance of licenses, disciplinary actions, and the promulgation of rules.


The Texas State Board of Acupuncture Examiners consists of nine members appointed by the Governor for six-year staggered terms not requiring Senate confirmation. The presiding officer of the Board is also appointed by the Governor. The board consists of the following: four acupuncturists with at least five years in the practice of acupuncture in Texas and are not licensed in this state as physicians; two physicians who are licensed in Texas and are experienced in the practice of acupuncture; three members of the public who are not licensed or trained in a health care profession.