image of caduceus
Physician Application and Registration Fees

Application and Application-Related Fees

Application Fee:  As of 9/1/2015, the fee for physician licensure in Texas is $817.00. The entire fee must be submitted before your application can be assigned and processed.

 

Application-Related Fees:   Fees are typically required from other entities that provide documents or services.  This list is not all inclusive, but examples of entities that typically charge fees are:

  • The Federation of State Medical Boards for the FCVS packet or exam transcripts;
  • The National Practitioner Data Bank/Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank for their reports;
  • AACRAO or FCSA for a foreign education evaluation;
  • PearsonVue for administration of the jurisprudence exam; and
  • MorphoTrust for processing the criminal history check.

 

Registration Fees

  • Once the Board has issued you an official license number, you will have 90 days to register and activate your license. Failure to register will result in penalty fees, and after one year, license cancellation.

     

    The Board assigns the first registration period. These initial permits will be either 12 or 24 months in length. First time registration fees are prorated accordingly. Subsequent registrations will be two years in length and will be due on the same day each time. Even number licenses expire in even number years and odd number licenses expire in odd number years

     

    House Bill 7, effective 9/1/2015, removed the $200 per year Professional fee, previously required.  Please note that all registration fees assessed prior to 9/1/2015 will not be effected by this fee change, regardless of when payment is remitted.

    In addition, under Senate Bill 195 (84th Legislative Session) effective 9/1/2016, the TMB will remit funds to the Texas State Board of Pharmacy for the purposes of the operation and maintenance of the Texas Prescription Monitoring Program (PMP).  As such, a small fee for this purpose has been added to your total renewal fee due. 

     

    Initial Registration Fee prorated amounts, as of 9/1/2017:

    Initial registration of 12 months - $283.24
    Initial registration of 24 months - $469.24

     

    The full biennial registration fee includes an $80 SB104 fee,  the $13.24 Prescription Monitoring Program fee, and a $2 Office of Patient Protection fee. These fees are required by statute. The remaining $370 is the fee required by the TMB.

     

    The initial registration fee includes an $80 SB104 fee per registration,  the $13.24 Prescription Monitoring Program fee, and a $5 Office of Patient Protection fee for the first year, with an additional $1 charged for any subsequent year. These fees are required by statute and cannot be pro-rated. The remaining amount is required by the TMB and prorated for each permit length.

     

    These fees are included in the prices listed above, and explained in more detail in the chart below.

     

     

    Initial Biennial Registration

    Length of Permit

    Agency Fee

    SB 104

    Ofc Pt Prot Fee

    PMP

    Total

    12 months

     $ 185.00

     $ 80.00

     $ 5.00

     $ 13.24

     $ 283.24

    24 months

     $ 370.00

     $ 80.00

     $ 5.00

     $ 13.24

     $ 469.24

    House Bill 7, effective 9/1/2015, removed the $200 per year Professional fee, previously required.  Please note that all registration fees assessed prior to 9/1/2015 will not be effected by this fee change, regardless of when payment is remitted.

    In addition, under Senate Bill 195 (84th Legislative Session) effective 9/1/2016, the TMB will remit funds to the Texas State Board of Pharmacy for the purposes of the operation and maintenance of the Texas Prescription Monitoring Program (PMP). As such, a small fee for this purpose has been added to your total renewal fee due.

     

    As of 9/1/2017, the biennial registration fee includes an $80 SB104 fee, the $13.24 Prescription Monitoring Program fee, and a $2 Office of Patient Protection fee. These fees are required by statute. The remaining $370 is the fee required by the TMB.

     

    These fees are included in the prices listed above, and explained in more detail in the chart below.

    Subsequent Biennial Registration

    Length of Permit

    Agency Fee

    SB 104

    Ofc Pt Prot Fee

    PMP

    Total

    24 months

     $ 370.00

     $ 80.00

     $ 2.00

     $ 13.24

     $ 465.24

    Physician licenses expire at one of 4 times during the year, February 28th, May 31st, August 31st, or November 30th. These registration periods are assigned by the TMB at the time of licensure, and the fees are pro-rated appropriately for the initial registration. Even number licenses expire in even number years and odd number licenses expire in odd number years.

    After the initial registration, we are not able to offer the option of a shorter or annual registration. In addition, there are no registration fee exemptions for physicians who are in training, or in military service.

    Physicians can register online 60 days prior to expiration. Registration reminders will be sent out on postcards.

     

     

     

    Online registration:

    No financial information is seen, processed, or stored by the Texas Medical Board.

    The payment portion of the online registration system is handled by Texas.gov, the official website of Texas.  The price of this service includes funds that support the ongoing operations and enhancements of Texas.gov, which is provided by a third party in partnership with the State. Texas.gov will remit the amount paid to the Texas Medical Board on your behalf.

     

    Please note that as of 9/1/2015 Texas.gov will charge a different amount depending on the type of online payment service used.

    Ex:     $465.24 – TMB Registration fee due
              $475.97 – Total amount charged on Credit Card

     

    Ex:     $465.24 – TMB Registration fee due
              $466.24 – Total amount charged through electronic check

     

    Non-online (paper) registration:

    An additional processing fee of $50 will be charged to those licensees who choose to register through a paper form, when an online option is available. If an online option is not available (ex: license is delinquent or suspended at the time of registration) the additional processing fee will not be required.

     

    To request a hard copy registration form, please contact the Registration Department at registrations@tmb.state.tx.us or (512) 305-7030.