image of caduceus
Renewal Process - Medical Physicists

COVID-19 Disaster Response – License Renewal/Registration Extensions

Click the link above for detailed information on automatic extensions related to the disaster response.



  • Temporary permits are not eligible for renewal. If you have an existing temp permit and need to request another temp or move to a full, you will need to submit a new application, using the online system located in the Licensing section of our website.



Registrations are available online 60-90 days prior to your current expiration date. If you cannot proceed with online registration, try again closer to your expiration date.  Registration reminders will be sent out on postcards at least 60 days in advance of the expiration date. 

Medical Physicists Online Registration/Renewal - click here



  • Medical physicist licensees expire once a year, on May 31st.
  • The full (24 months) biennial registration fee includes a $2 Office of Patient Protection (OPP) fee. This fee is required by statute. The remaining $258 is the fee required by TMB.




    Biennial Registration

    Length of Permit

    Agency Fee


    total charged

    24 months

    $ 258.00

    $ 2.00

    $ 260.00


    Please note that the fees listed above are for the “first” Medical Physicist Specialty listed on the permit. Each additional specialty will be an additional $50.00 added to the renewal fee.

    Online Registration:

    No financial information is seen, processed, or stored by the Texas Medical Board. The payment portion of the online registration system is handled by, the official website of Texas. The price of this service includes funds that support the ongoing operations and enhancements of, which is provided by a third party in partnership with the State. will remit the amount paid to the Texas Medical Board on your behalf.


    Please note that as of 9/1/15, will charge a different amount depending on the type of online payment service used.

    Ex:           $260.00 Registration fee due          

                    $266.10 Total amount charged on credit card


    Ex:           $260.00 Registration fee due

                    $260.00 Total amount charged through electronic check



    Non-online (paper) registration:

    An additional processing fee of $50 will be charged to those licensees who choose to register through a paper form, when an online option is available. If an online option is not available (ex: license is delinquent or suspended at the time of registration) the additional processing fee will not be required.


    To request a hard copy registration form, please contact the Registration Department at .

    There is no grace period for the expiration date of a Medical Physicist permit. Once the expiration date has occurred, a penalty fee equal to one half of the registration fee will be added. After 90 days, the penalty fee will increase to equal a full registration fee. If a license has been expired for one year or longer it is automatically cancelled.

    Please note that the Board does not have a “zero balance receipt” that shows that a licensee has a zero balance or that licensee registration has been paid in full, nor can we provide an individualized billing statement of the amount due to complete license registration/renewal. 


    Online Registration:

    Please remember that the payment portion of the online registration system is handled by, the official website of Texas.  A printable receipt will be provided at the end of the online registration process. In addition, a confirmation of payment receipt will be emailed to the address given as part of the payment process.

    Additional copies of the receipt will be provided by request only. Submit your request to . Please include your full name, license number, date of payment, and amount paid.


    Non-online (paper) registration:

    A receipt will be provided by request only. Submit your request to . Please include your full name, license number, date of payment, and amount paid.

    NEW - TMB Transitions to electronic licenses

    The Texas Medical Board is transitioning to electronic licenses for a more paperless experience and to allow for enhanced licensee control.   As of September 1, 2019 the Board will no longer issue paper licenses after a completed registration/renewal for the following license types:

    • Physician (including telemedicine, administrative, conceded eminence and public health)
    • Physician Assistant
    • Acupuncturist
    • Acudetox
    • General Medical Radiologic Technologist
    • Limited Medical Radiologic Technologist
    • Non-Certified Radiologic Technician
    • Respiratory Care Practitioner
    • Medical Physicist
    • Perfusionist


    What does this mean for licensees renewing their licenses on or after September 1, 2019?

    Once your registration/renewal is complete, please allow 2 business days for processing.  After that time, you will be able to log into your MyTMB account and view, save or print a copy of your active license.  In addition, after September 1, 2019, you will be able to use the same system to view, save or print a copy of your active license as needed.


    Please note that primary source verification regarding licensure status is always available to anyone, including licensees’ employers, via the TMB website through Look up a License.