Click the link above for detailed information on automatic extensions related to the disaster response.
Until 2017, in order to perform radiologic procedures in Texas under a physician’s supervision, Non-Certified Radiologic Technician (NCTs) were required to obtain a second registration permit with the Texas Medical Board in addition to placement on the MRT Board’s general registry.
In the 2017 legislative session, SB 674 changed the law so that the Texas Medical Board is no longer required to register NCTs who work for physicians. What remains is the requirement that NCTs obtain placement on the MRT Board’s general registry, or have an approved a hardship exemption, prior to starting practice.
You will need to continue to renew your NCT Registry listing or hardship exemption to continue to practice as an NCT in Texas.
Registrations are available online 60-90 days prior to your current expiration date. If you cannot proceed with online registration, try again closer to your expiration date. Registration reminders will be sent out on postcards at least 60 days in advance of the expiration date.
- NCTs on the Registry are a biennial renewal and will expire on June 30th. Please check your permit for your expiration date.
- Information on continuing education is available at CE for NCT Registry .