Each physician licensed to practice medicine in Texas using the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact (IMLC) must complete the Jurisprudence Exam (JP exam) then register his or her license with the Board and pay a registration fee. You must complete the JP exam, initial registration, and pay the fee within 90 days of the date your license was issued to avoid penalty fees.
The JP exam is an exam that is conducted on the licensing requirements and other laws, rules, or regulations applicable in this state. This exam must be completed before you can complete your initial registration. Both completion of the JP exam and the initial registration must be done within 90 days of your license being issued.
Note: If you have already taken and passed the Texas JP Exam for a previous Texas Physician Licensure application, you are not required to take it again. If you have already taken and passed the Texas Physician JP Exam, please skip down to the Initial Registration instructions.
The JP exam is available to take online through your “My TMB” account. You will need to create a MyTMB account through the TMB website - https://sso.tmb.state.tx.us/Login.aspx.
Additional information on creating your MyTMB account is available in the “New Licensee FAQS” below.
After establishing a MyTMB account, you should see an icon on the dashboard for purchasing the JP study guide and an icon that directs you to the Estrategy Solutions portal to take your exam. Once the JP exam has been passed, there will be an icon to view the completion certificate. These links are only available through MyTMB after a license has been issued using the IMLC and you have created a MyTMB account.
You must pass with a score of 75 or better and will have unlimited attempts to do so. The fee for the JP exam will be $34 per attempt. The JP exam is administered through a third-party vendor and failure to complete the exam within the timeframe allowed will result in automatic submission for grading and forfeiture of the fee for failed exams.
Upon passage of the exam scores will be sent electronically to the TMB by the vendor. Please allow 48 hours for your account to be updated. The JP exam must be passed before you can complete your initial registration. You will not be contacted by the TMB regarding passage or failure of the JP exam. It is up to each licensee to proceed to the initial registration step once they know they have passed the JP exam. Both completion of the JP exam and the initial registration must be done within 90 days of your license being issued.
The $833.25 that you previously submitted to the IMLC was the one-time processing fee for your licensure application. The initial registration fee may be prorated depending on your assigned expiration date. A breakdown of the possible initial pro-rated registration fees is available here.
You must complete registration and pay the fee within 90 days of the date your license was issued to activate your license. Activating your license is the final step to completing all regulatory requirements. Once completed, you may practice in Texas. You must activate your license before practicing in Texas.
Print a copy of your license
The Texas Medical Board has transitioned to electronic licenses for a more paperless experience and to allow for enhanced licensee control. As of 9/1/2019 the Board no longer issues paper licenses after a completed registration/renewal.
Once your registration is complete, please allow 2 business days for processing. After that you will be able to log into your “MyTMB” account on our website and view, save or print a copy of your active license.